2021 USA-European Exposome Symposium

Exposomics, COVID-19 and Health Disparities

convened by the
Mount Sinai Institute for Exposomic Research
in collaboration with the
University of Brescia and University of Utrecht

DAY 1: Wednesday, January 27, 2021

 

8:30 AM EST / 14:30 CET

Master of Ceremony

Megan K. Horton, PhD, MPH, Associate Professor,  

Dept. of Environmental Medicine and Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

Welcome and Introductory Remarks

Robert O. Wright, MD, MPH, Co-Director, Mount Sinai Institute for Exposomic Research, and Ethel H. Wise Professor and Chair, Dept. of Environmental Medicine and Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

 

David M. Balshaw, PhD, Branch Chief, Exposure, Response, and Technology Branch, National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences

9:05 AM EST / 15:05  CET

Exposome and Racism in Health Disparities
Rosalind J. Wright, MD, MPH, Co-Director, Mount Sinai Institute for Exposomic Research, Dean for Translational Biomedical Sciences, and the Horace W. Goldsmith Professor in Life Course Health Research, Depts. of Pediatrics and Environmental Medicine and Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai 

9:30 AM EST / 15:30 CET

Identifying chemicals of emerging concern

P. Lee Ferguson, PhD, Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, Duke University

9:55 AM EST / 15:55 CET

Networking Break (20 minutes)

To access the networking break, you must be logged into webcast. The link will be provided there. 50 people max in each room.

10:15 AM EST / 16:15 CET

Adapting untargeted HRMS for complex exposures in humans

Douglas I. Walker, PhD, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Environmental Medicine and Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

10:40 AM EST / 16:40 CET

Linking exposure and health: legacy of HBM4EU and preparation for the European Partnership for the Assessment of Risks from Chemicals (PARC)
Robert Barouki, MD, PhD,  Professor of Biochemistry, University of Paris and Head of the Inserm unit T3S: “Toxicology, Therapeutic Targets, Cellular Signaling and Biomarkers"

11:05 AM EST / 17:05 CET

Genome X Exposome

Xihong Lin, PhD, Professor of Biostatistics and Coordinating Director of Program in Quantitative Genomics, Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health

 

11:30 AM  EST / 17:30 CET

 

Break (10 minutes)

11:40 AM EST / 17:40 CET

Breakout Rooms with Day #1 Speakers

Speakers from today’s sessions will each lead a discussion in separate breakout rooms. Attendees will be able to jump in and out of rooms.  50 people max in each room.

To access the breakout rooms, you must be logged into webcast. The link will be provided there. 

 

12:40 PM EST / 18:40 CET

Trainees and Early Investigators’ Lightning Talks
(2 concurrent sessions)

Session A

Co-Moderators:

Christine Austin, PhD, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Environmental Medicine and Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

 

Roberto Ranzi, PhD, Professor of Hydraulic Structures and of River Basin Monitoring and Restoration, University of Brescia

Session B

Moderator:

Elena Colicino, PhD, Assistant Professor, Dept. of Environmental Medicine and Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

These 1-hour sessions will feature 4-minute lightning talks by trainees and early investigators followed by a moderated discussion.

Lightning talks are listed here.

DAY 2: Thursday, January 28, 2021

 

8:30 AM EST / 14:30 CET

Master of Ceremony

Megan K. Horton, PhD, MPH, Associate Professor,  

Dept. of Environmental Medicine and Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

'-omics' Sciences and Occupational Medicine: Challenges and Opportunities for Prevention

Donatella Placidi, MD, Professor of Occupational Medicine, University of Brescia

9:00 AM EST / 15:00  CET

Influenza and coronavirus interactions in the ferret infection model

S. Mark Tompkins, PhD, Professor of Infectious Diseases, Center for Vaccines and Immunology, University of Georgia

9:25 AM EST / 15:25 CET

COVID-19, Air Pollution and Exposome - Methodologies
Roel Vermeulen, PhD, Professor of Environmental Epidemiology and Exposome Science, Utrecht University

9:50 AM EST / 15:50 CET

Break (10 minutes)

10:00 AM EST / 16:00 CET

Sewage surveillance of COVID-19

Gertjan Medema, PhD, Principal Microbiologist, KWR Water Research Institute, The Netherlands; Professor, Water & Health, Delft University of Technology; Distinguished Hannah Visiting Professor, Michigan State University

10:25 AM EST / 16:25 CET

Possible sources of COVID-19 first wave spread and new sampling approaches for the identification of air transmission danger

Laura Borgese, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Brescia

Elza Bontempi, PhD, Full Professor, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Brescia

10:50 AM EST / 16:50 CET

Environmental Biodynamics: redefining the role of time in the exposome

Manish Arora, BDS, MPH, PhD, FICD, Director, Mount Sinai Institute for Exposomic Research Laboratories, and Edith J. Baerwald Professor and Vice Chair of Environmental Medicine and Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

11:15 AM  EST / 17:15 CET

Networking Break (20 minutes)

To access the networking break, you must be logged into webcast. The link will be provided there. 

11:35 AM EST / 17:35 CET

Panel Discussion: Leveraging Exposomics Research in a Global Pandemic

Rosalind Wright, MD, MPH, Co-Director, Mount Sinai Institute for Exposomic Research

Donatella Placidi, MD, Professor of Occupational Medicine, University of Brescia

Laura Borgese, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Brescia

Elza Bontempi, PhD, Full Professor, Department of Mechanical and Industrial Engineering, University of Brescia

Gertjan Medema, PhD, Principal Microbiologist, KWR Water Research Institute, The Netherlands; Professor, Water & Health, Delft University of Technology; Distinguished Hannah Visiting Professor, Michigan State University

S. Mark Tompkins, PhD, Professor of Infectious Diseases, Center for Vaccines and Immunology, University of Georgia

Roel Vermeulen, PhD, Professor of Environmental Epidemiology and Exposome Science, Utrecht University

Panel Moderator:

Manish Arora, BDS, MPH, PhD, FICD, Director, Mount Sinai Institute for Exposomic Research Laboratories, and Edith J. Baerwald Professor and Vice Chair of Environmental Medicine and Public Health, Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

12:35 PM EST / 18:35 CET

Breakout Rooms with Day #2 Speakers

Speakers from today’s session will each lead a discussion in separate breakout rooms. Attendees will be able to jump in and out of rooms. 50 people max in each room.

To access the breakout rooms, you must be logged into webcast. The link will be provided there. 

Connect With Us

  • Email
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

©2020 by The Institute for Exposomic Research

Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai

One Gustave L. Levy Place, Box 1057 New York, NY 10029